Close Icon
Go Mobile! Download the free Enroll MHC mobile app to shop, view notices and upload documents. Get it for Android. Get it for iOS.
Home / Glossary Term / Metal Level

Metal Level

There are several categories of insurance plans: metal levels called Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum, as well as Catastrophic plans. Plans in these categories differ based on how you and the plan share the costs of your care.

If you qualify for cost-sharing reductions (reduced out-of-pocket costs like deductibles and copays), you can access these savings only by choosing a Silver plan.

People under 30 and some people with limited incomes may buy an alternative kind of coverage called a “Catastrophic” health plan.

Plan Level Insurance Company Pays
(on average)
You Pay
(on average)
Bronze Metal Level Image


60% of health care costs 40% of health care costs
Silver Metal Level Image


70% of health care costs 30% of health care costs
Gold Metal Level Image


80% of health care costs 20% of health care costs
Platinum Metal Level Image


90% of health care costs 10% of health care costs